Nestled in the jungle in Argentina’s northeasterly corner, Misiones province will host one G20 event in the Iguazú Falls area, a long-time centre for international meetings given its proximity to three of the four Mercosur economies.

Recognized as one of the seven natural wonders of the world, Iguazú Falls are the world’s  largest waterfalls system and one of Latin America’s most visible landmarks. They were named a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1984. The falls are surrounded by subtropical rainforest with over 2,000 species of vascular plants and home to a wide variety of birds, insects and mammals, including the tapir, giant anteater, howling monkey, ocelot and jaguar. Misiones has the highest level of biodiversity of any province. The waterfalls and surrounding jungle are some of the largest protected areas in the country.


  • Population: 1.2 million
  • Area: 29,801 km²
  • Capital: Posadas
  • Top export: Paper pulp

Meeting Calendar

Access the calendar of all meetings in this province.

See Calendar

Map of Argentina

Information on each province.

See Map

Meeting Venue

About Puerto Iguazú

Main Attractions

Composed of 257 individual cascades, the system of falls at Iguazú (Big Water in the local Guaraní language) are the world’s largest. Its most impressive and clearly the most fun for the inevitable drenching experience is the Devil’s Throat, at over 80 metres tall.

The Yaboti Biosphere Reserve is a huge protected area along the banks of the Uruguay River and surrounding rainforest. The many waterfalls which mark the span of the reserve make it one of the country’s most visually protected areas.

Gastronomy in Misiones mixes the Guaraní people's culinary traditions with European influences that were introduced by the Jesuits who settled in the province.

The 17th and 18th centuries saw many Jesuit missions set up in Misiones, eventually giving the province its name. Its most famous, San Ignacio Miní, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Car on road at sunset, Misiones, Argentina